Our story

Dear visitor, welcome to our universe that we hope to be yours too! A universe in which the way to prove your identity is both simple and secure but also unified. No more passwords, PIN codes and cards of any kind, no more biometric solutions that are disrespectful of privacy. The time has come to offer a unique authentication solution that allows you to pay as well as open doors, computer sessions, mailboxes, sign documents online, access e-banking, websites for adults or to cross a border. We believe that this solution involves the meeting of two worlds, that of “wearables” and that of biometrics. This is why we decided to create BIOWETRICS SA and to introduce the W WATCH.

We are convinced that if we want to unify our current authentication solutions (passwords, keys, cards, PIN codes …) it goes by the hand. You must for example choose the credit card with which you will pay and you must reach the card readers already in place. However, the “mobile” is not the ultimate solution because it monopolizes an entire hand and requires to systematically show legitimacy (fingerprint or facial recognition among others) when using it for authentication purposes. A “wearable” on the wrist seems much more appropriate both for its hands free aspect but also and above all for its ability to permanently guarantee the identity of the wearer, in particular by recognizing the biometric characteristics of his wrist.

This has been the thinking that Matthias Vanoni, inventor of the W WATCH, made when he co-founded BIOWATCH SA in 2015 which became BIOWETRICS SA in 2020, a Swiss company based in the well-chosen canton of Neuchâtel, land of watchmaking and microelectronics.

Matthias Vanoni, CEO of BIOWETRICS, was a PhD student at EPFL and an employee of IDIAP in Martigny when the startup Nymi launched its pre-order campaign for the Nymi band in September 2013. It was the first product that combined ” wearable “and” biometrics “with user recognition performed by ECG. The success was dazzling with 10,000 pre-sold units and a $14M Series A raised barely a year later. In August 2014, Matthias Vanoni’s thesis work on vein pattern recognition gave him the idea of a biometric watch that identifies the wearer by the shape of his wrist veins.

2014 – BIOWATCH & ICC

“From idea to prototype in 3 weeks” was the slogan of the International Create Challenge 2014, a competition for startups which is held every year in August-September at IDIAP. Matthias Vanoni participated with the BIOWATCH project of a biometric watch and won the first prize ex-aeqo.

2015 – BIOWATCH SA

Matthias Vanoni left his doctorate to focus on this entrepreneurial adventure and created in February 2015 the company BIOWATCH SA in Martigny with co-founder Joe Rice, the inventor of vein recognition. More than 50 awards and distinctions and a dozen patents later the company is restructured to make way in 2020 for BIOWETRICS SA.

2020 – BIOWETRICS SA & W WATCH

It is now from Neuchâtel that the adventure continues with the end of the R&D phase and the launch of the industrialization phase of a first product eagerly awaited by the market, the W WATCH.

Our history is now written with you because you can share your expectations and express your support today with the pre-sale of this new kind of Swiss watch. Thank you!

Notre histoire

Cher visiteur, soyez le bienvenu dans notre univers que l’on espère être aussi le votre! Un univers dans lequel la manière de prouver son identité est à la fois simple et sécurisée mais aussi unifiée. Terminés les mots de passe, codes PIN et cartes en tout genre, terminées les solutions biométriques irrespectueuses de la vie privée. Le temps est venu de proposer une solution unique d’authentification qui permette aussi bien de payer que d’ouvrir des portes, des sessions d’ordinateur, des boîtes mail, signer des documents en ligne, accéder à son e-banking, des sites pour adultes ou passer une frontière. Cette solution passe selon nous par la rencontre de deux mondes, celui des “wearables” et celui de la biométrie. C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé de créer BIOWETRICS SA et d’introduire la W WATCH.

Nous sommes convaincus que si l’on veut unifier nos solutions d’authentification actuelles (mots de passe, clés, cartes, codes PIN…) cela passe par la main. Il faut bien par exemple choisir la carte de crédit avec laquelle on va payer et il faut bien atteindre les lecteur de cartes déjà en place. Pour autant le “mobile” n’est pas la solution ultime car il monopolise une main entière et nécessite de systématiquement montrer patte blanche (empreinte digitale ou reconnaissance faciale entre autres) lors de son usage à des fins d’authentification. Un “wearable” au poignet semble bien plus approprié à la fois pour son côté main libre mais aussi et surtout pour sa capacité à garantir en permanence l’identité du porteur, notamment en en reconnaissant les caractéristiques biométriques de son poignet. CQFD.

Il s’agit là du chemin de pensée qu’a effectué Matthias Vanoni, inventeur de la W WATCH, lorsqu’il co-fonda BIOWATCH SA en 2015 devenu BIOWETRICS SA en 2020, société suisse basée dans le bien choisi canton de Neuchâtel, à la fois bassin de l’horlogerie et de la microélectronique.

Matthias Vanoni, CEO de BIOWETRICS, était doctorant de l’EPFL et employé de l’IDIAP à Martigny lorsque la startup Nymi lança sa campagne de pré-commandes pour le Nymi band en septembre 2013. Il s’agissait du premier produit qui alliait “wearable” et “biometrics” avec une reconnaissance du porteur effectuée par ECG. Le succès fut fulgurant avec 10’000 unités pre-vendues et une Series A de $14M à peine un an après. En août 2014 le travail de thèse de Matthias Vanoni sur la reconnaissance biométrique par les veines lui donna l’idée d’une montre biométrique qui identifie le porteur par la forme de ses veines du poignet.

2014 – BIOWATCH & ICC

“From idea to prototype in 3 weeks” était le slogan de l’International Create Challenge 2014, une compétition pour startup qui se tient chaque année en août-septembre à l’IDIAP. Matthias Vanoni y participa avec le projet BIOWATCH d’une montre biométrique et remporta le premier prix ex-aeqo.

2015 – BIOWATCH SA

Matthias Vanoni quitta son doctorat pour se concentrer sur cette aventure entrepreneuriale et créa en février 2015 la société BIOWATCH SA à Martigny avec comme co-fondateur Joe Rice, l’inventeur de la reconnaissance par veine. Plus de 50 prix et distinctions et une dizaine de brevets plus tard la société est restructurée pour laisser place en 2020 à BIOWETRICS SA.

2020 – BIOWETRICS SA & W WATCH

C’est dorénavant depuis Neuchâtel que l’aventure continue avec la fin de la phase de R&D et le lancement de la phase d’industrialisation d’un premier produit très attendu par le marché, la W WATCH.

Notre histoire s’écrit désormais avec vous car vous avez la possibilité de partager vos attentes et d’exprimer votre soutien dès aujourd’hui avec la mise en pré-vente de cette montre suisse d’un genre nouveau. Merci!